10 Children's Books Featuring Flamingos!


This site contains affiliate links to products we use and trust. While you are not required to purchase through our site, we may receive a commission for purchases made through these links. You do not pay anything additional to make a purchase through our affiliate links.


June 23rd is National Pink Flamingo Day! We love flamingos, obviously our favorite children's book character is a flamingo! Pink Flamingo Day was declared in 2007 by Dean Mazzaralla, the mayor of Leominster, MA to honour the creator of the plastic lawn flamingo: Don Featherstone. It is a day to celebrate the icon that is the pink plastic lawn flamingo. Today, we want to celebrate the pink flamingos who appear in some of our favorite Children's Books! Here's our list of the Top 10 Children's Books featuring a Pink Flamingo!

All Book Descriptions have been derived from the book descriptions written on Amazon Children's Books



Florrie Flamingo's First Ballet Class!

Join Florrie Flamingo on this new adventure as she joins Bella Bear at her very first ballet class. Florrie meets friends in class who have been dancing ballet for a while, including Swanhilda Swan and Oscar Ostrich. Although Florrie loves ballet she has a difficult time mastering all the moves in this first ballet class, but Bella Bear sees potential in her. With a little hard work, practice and determination she thinks Florrie Flamingo can be a ballerina yet!




Florrie Flamingo's ABC's of Dance!

Florrie Flamingo’s ABC’s of Dance is an A-Z rendition of ballet and dance related terms to help young children learn their ballet terminology and meanings. A combination of catchy rhymes and bright and colorful illustrations throughout, makes Florrie Flamingo’s ABC’s of Dance a fun and fanciful approach to learning ballet!



Florrie's Frozen Adventure!

Florrie Flamingo© joins Swanhilda Swan© in Canada for a frozen adventure. Florrie learns how to build a snow swan (pliés and port de bras), make footprints in the snow (bourrées), and how to ice skate (glissade)! With pauses built in for students to try the dance moves on their own, Florrie’s Frozen Adventure is the perfect addition to any preschool classroom or dance class. Learning, Dancing and Reading is fun with Florrie Flamingo©



Flora and the Flamingo

In this innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend explore the trials and joys of friendship through an elaborate synchronized dance. With a twist, a turn, and even a flop, these unlikely friends learn at last how to dance together in perfect harmony. Full of humor and heart, this stunning performance (and splashy ending!) will have readers clapping for more of this fun flamingo story!


For more feathery fun with the flamingo girls, pick up more preschool wordless books like Flora and the Penguin, Flora and the Peacocks, Flora and the Chicks, Flora and the Ostrich, or Flora and Friends Matching Game.



Mingo the Flamingo

From The Bad Seed illustrator, Pete Oswald, and Emmy Award-winning artist Justin K. Thompson comes a hilarious story about a migrating flamingo who crash-lands in Siberia and has no clue who or where he is…

Is it a golf club? Is it a garden gnome? No. It's Mingo the flamingo!


From author-illustrator team Pete Oswald and Justin K. Thompson comes a hilarious picture book about a flamingo named Mingo who is ready to fly but gets lost from the rest of the flock during a terrible storm. To make matters worse, when he crashes, he completely forgets who he is and where he belongs. With the help and training from some new friends, he must find the strength to make it back home and reunite with his family.


Mingo the Flamingo’s dynamic and artistic style and black-and-white illustrations will be sure to please fans of Hello, My Name is Octicorn by Kevin Diller, The Blobfish Book by Jessica Olien, and other strange and wonderful creatures.



Sylvie

Meet a flamingo of a different stripe. When all-too-curious Sylvie learns that the reason she is pink is because of her diet, she decides to do a little experimenting! At first, Sylvie likes trying out different colors and patterns, but ultimately she learns the valuable lesson that sometimes it's best to just be yourself.



Miss Mingo & the First Day of School

Young animal enthusiasts won’t soon forget these unique students or Miss Mingo’s enthusiastic celebration of their diversity. — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

If there’s an elephant in the classroom — along with an alligator, a koala, a centipede, an octopus, and who knows what else — it must be Miss Mingo’s class on the first day of school! Miss Mingo, a flashy flamingo, starts off the year by inviting all creatures big and small to share something special about themselves. Did you know that Cricket hears with his legs, Snake smells with his tongue, and Frog enjoys eating his own skin? Visit this multi-species classroom for a nonfiction storybook filled with learning — and laughter.



Pinky Got Out

Fans of Tad Hills and Jory John will love this hilarious picture book about Pinky, a flamingo at the zoo who sneakily slips out to join a group of kids on their zoo tour.

Pinky isn't your typical flamingo. He's a real escape artist!

When he sees a young girl named Penny and her class touring the zoo, Pinky feels like they're birds of a feather and decides to make a break for it.

Penny is the first to spot the flamingo hiding in plain sight. One by one, she lets her friends in on Pinky's antics as he tries to blend in with the seals, the meerkats, and even the pandas.



The Dancing Flamingos of Lake Chimichanga

(Bedtime humor) 5 glowing Amazon Vine Voice reviews. Quirky birds with a zest for life, revel, feast, and dance on the shores of a shimmering lake (laughter and fun for ages 3 – 6, preschool to 1st grade). “Pink birds on a walk, pink flocks in pink socks…Diving, dipping, drinking, dripping, flying, falling, flailing, flipping...Strutting, swaying, swooping, sunning, synchronized swimming—they shimmy—it’s stunning.” Flamingo picture book activities include finding and counting animals, dances, and foods—plus online extras. Read-aloud book on flamingos, 350 words (some tongue twisters) in dyslexic-friendly font by award-winning kid’s author Karl Beckstrand (Ma MacDonald Flees the Farm—for 60 multicultural books, click Karl Beckstrand above), illustrated by Ashley Sanborn (Polar Bear Bowler and If Cancer Was a Fish).



Fiona Flamingo

We all have times where we feel uncomfortable about who we are... Follow Fiona through her color-changing, feather-filled day as she learns to accept not only being a different color from the rest of her flamingo flock, but also that it's okay to be scared, angry, and sad at times. Our first book recommended by teachers and doctors to help children understand and manage their feelings.



28 views0 comments